Region Nitra (Nitriansky kraj)

Included in categories: Regions in Slovakia
Coat of Arms - Region Nitra The capital of the region is city Nitra, according to the population 77 048 (31.12.2017) the sixth largest city in Slovakia. Region Nitra has area 6 343,73 km2 and population 678 692 (31.12.2017).

Nitra Region borders on  Region Trnava (Trnavský kraj) in the west, Region Trenčín (Trenčiansky kraj) in the north and Region Banska Bystrica (Banskobystrický kraj) in the east.

The Region’s relief topography predominately consists of plains and lowlands broken by mountainous areas. The Tríbeč Mountains stretch along the north of the region, while the northeast is bordered by the Štiavnica Mountains (Štiavnické vrchy) and part of the Pohronský Inovec mountains. The largest part of the south-east and southern part of the region is covered by quality agricultural land of the Danubian Lowland (Podunajská nížina) with part of Rye Island (Žitný ostrov). Rye Island (Žitný ostrov) is the largest river island in Europe with rich groundwater reserves created between the main flows of the Danube river and the Little Danube (arm of Danube river).

>> Districts in Region Nitra
>> Cities, municipalities in Region Nitra
6 343,73
678 692

More in category - Regions in Slovakia