Regional and administrative division in Slovakia

The current regional and administrative division of Slovakia was approved by law in year 1996 (221/1996) and related laws and regulations. According to this legislation, regional units (self-governing regional units) and administrative units were created for the accomplishment of the state administration:

1. Regional division

Regional units (self-governing regional units) are:
  • Self-governing regions
  • Municipalities

Self-Governing Region (higher regional unit)

Self-Governing Region (informal county, region) is the highest self-governing unit in Slovakia. It is governed by the chairman of the self-governing region (informal district administrator). Each district in the region has a representation in the regional council by population.  The territorial area of the Self-Governing Region is identical to the territorial area of the region only.
Regions in Slovakia

Regional self-governing units in Slovakia

Self-governing region
Seat in city Territorial area
The Self-Governing Region of Trenčín (Bratislavský samosprávny kraj) Bratislava Region Bratislava (Bratislavský kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of  Trnava (Trnavský samosprávny kraj) Trnava Region Trnava (Trnavský kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of  Trenčín (Trenčiansky samosprávny kraj) Trenčín Region Trenčín (Trenčiansky kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of Nitra (Nitriansky samosprávny kraj) Nitra Region Nitra (Nitriansky kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of Žilina (Žilinský samosprávny kraj) Žilina Region Žilina (Žilinský kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of Banská Bystrica (Banskobystrický samosprávny kraj) Banská Bystrica Region Banská Bystrica (Banskobystrický kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of  Košice (Košický samosprávny kraj) Košice Region Košice (Košický kraj)
The Self-Governing Region of Prešov (Prešovský samosprávny kraj) Prešov Region Prešov (Prešovský kraj)


The municipality is a basic self-government unit in Slovakia.

2. Administrative division

Administrative units are regions and districts. The regions are divided into districts. Administrative units are also municipalities and military districts, in case they under special laws perform the state administration. There are 8 regions, 79 districts in Slovakia.

Recommended - related articles:

>> Regions in Slovakia
>> List of regions in Slovakia
>> List of districts in Slovakia